Windies Name 17- Member Provisional Squad For Test Series Against Pakistan

Cricket West Indies (CWI) Selection Panel has announced a 17-member provisional squad for the Betway Test Series against Pakistan, starting on Thursday, August 12.

The panel has recalled fast bowler Chemar Holder and middle-order batsman Shamarh Brooks. Holder made his Test debut in New Zealand last year but has not featured since then.

Brooks last played in New Zealand and has earned a recall following a polished century in the Best v Best four-day match last week. Additionally, two experienced players, left-hander Darren Bravo and fast bowler Shannon Gabriel will not feature in the upcoming two-match series.

Roger Harper, Lead Selector of the Senior Men’s Team, said: “Chemar Holder returns, having recovered from his injury. He will bolster the fast-bowling department. Shamarh Brooks batted his way into the provisional squad by scoring an accomplished century. He will certainly add some depth to the squad’s batting.”

“Shannon Gabriel has been given time to rehab fully and build his conditioning, so he was not part of the preparations for the Test series against Pakistan, which included the Best v Best game. Darren Bravo has been part of the ‘bubble’ from the preparation camp leading into the Betway Test series against South Africa and has been given a break.”

Harper added: “I expect the team to be highly competitive in every department while playing with passion, purpose and determination. I look forward to the batsmen stepping up as they did in the series against Bangladesh and against Sri Lanka earlier this year in Antigua.”

The two-match Betway Test Series will be played at Sabina Park from August 12-16 and August 20-24. The Betway Test Series forms the first of six Series in the new cycle of the International Cricket Council World Test Championship to find the best Test match cricket team in the world.


Kraigg Brathwaite (Captain)

Jermaine Blackwood (Vice-Captain)

Nkrumah Bonner

Shamarh Brooks

Rahkeem Cornwall

Roston Chase

Joshua Da Silva

Jahmar Hamilton

Chemar Holder

Jason Holder

Shai Hope

Alzarri Joseph

Kyle Mayers

Kieran Powell

Kemar Roach

Jayden Seales

Jomel Warrican

Readers Bureau, Contributor

Edited by Jesus Chan

Do you want to add feedback to this story?

Please add a comment in the box below or send an email to info@thereadersbureau.comsend us a message on WhatsApp at 646-874-7976 or Call us at 201-500-7715