West Indies Is ICC 2016 Twenty20 World Cup Champion

Amidst tumultuous singing, dancing, and clapping, the West Indies cricket team romped home with a fantastic win against England in the ICC Twenty20 World Cup tournament at the Eden Gardens stadium in Kolkata, India today.

cricket ball & batBrilliant batting by Barbadian Carlos Brathwaite and Marlon Samuels accounted for the West Indies win by four-wickets over England.

In an exciting finish, the West Indies needed 19 runs to win in the last over, Brathwaite hit consecutive sixes off the first four balls to send his teammates into wild celebrations.

Brathwaite ended with 34 not out off 10 balls.

At the other end was the enigmatic Marlon Samuels who anchored the innings with an excellent unbeaten 85 after the West Indies were three for 11 after 2.3 overs.

It was twenty20 cricket at its best and the win and celebration by The West Indies team was exciting to watch.

“Firstly I want to thank the almighty. We have a pastor in the team in Andre Fletcher, we keep on praying. Really happy for this win, it’s something we’ll cherish for a long time. We have a few matchwinners, nobody give us a chance, every game somebody stepped up – good to see Carlos play like that in his debut World Cup,” said West Indies captain Darren Sammy

Sammy also boasted about the T20 depth in the Caribbean, and expressed hope that the team will continue to improve.

“I want to thank the coaching team, Phil Simmons. We had a new manager in this tournament. Got to give credit to the entire team here. This is for all the fans in the Caribbean. I don’t know when I’m going to be playing for West Indies again, I want to thank my team, thanks my coaching staff. This is for the CHAMPIONS!” Sammy added.

On the other hand, England’s captain Eoin Morgan congratulated the West Indies for their victory.

“They were better, Huge highs and lows for us. Never sure going into the final over. We were certainly in the game, put ourselves in a position to win the game. We didn’t have enough runs on the board,” said Morgan

The Windies are the first team to win the title twice.

Scores: England 155 for nine in 20 overs; West Indies 161 for six in 19.4 overs.

Yvad Billings, Readers Bureau, Fellow

Edited by Jesus Chan

Do you want to add feedback to this story? Please add comment in box below.

Like our Facebook page

Follow us on Twitter