Six Progressive Democrats Say No To Infrastructure Bill

Six progressive Democrats voted against the passage of a $1.2 trillion bipartisan infrastructure bill on Friday after weeks of divisions within the party about the separate Build Back Better Act.

The bill passed the House of Representatives by a vote of 228 to 206 with 13 Republicans joining the majority of Democrats in approving the bipartisan framework.

Despite overcoming the impasse in the House, Democrats failed to convince six of their members to vote in favor of the legislation.

The Democrats who voted “nay” were Jamaal Bowman of New York, Cori Bush of Missouri, Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez of New York, Ilhan Omar of Minnesota, Ayanna Pressley of Massachusetts, and Rashida Tlaib of Michigan.

Progressives had sought to link the bipartisan bill to the Build Back Better Act, which Democrats hope to pass through the budget reconciliation process.

Readers Bureau, Contributor

Edited by Jesus Chan

Do you want to add feedback to this story? Please add a comment in the box below or send an email to info@thereadersbureau.com,  Call us at 201-500-7715