Shai Hope’s Unbeaten 109 Puts England On The Backfoot

West Indies 326 for 6 (Hope 109*, Athanaze 66) beat England 325 (Brook 71) by four wickets.

Shai Hope and Romario Shepherd put West Indies in the driving seat as they won the first ODI against England in a thrilling encounter at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, North Sound in Antigua on Sunday.

England won the toss and decided to take first strike and amassed 325 all out.

Harry Brook hit 71 off 72 balls to be the top scorer in the inning, followed by Phil Salt with 45 off 28 balls, Curran 38 off 26, and Brydon Carse 31 off 21.

They all contributed to England’s on-par if not challenging total of 325.

Windies’ bowlers all share in the wicket spoils with Joseph and Cariah taking one a piece, while Shepherd, Motie, and Thomas each getting two.

At Windies’ turn at the wicket, they showed early that they were up to the task with the highly touted Athanaze showing his mettle, outbatting the seasoned and experienced Brandon King.

The pair put on 106 before the fall of the first wicket, with Athanaze getting out for 66.

King followed soon after with a struggling 35 runs to his name. Kacey Carty was the next to go with a labored 16 from 39-ball.

Both Hetmyer and ODI debutant Sherfane Rutherford were caught on the boundary off Atkinson and Ahmed respectively as the Windies went into the last 10 overs requiring 106 runs for victory.

Captain Hope would not be denied his 16th ODI century as he put the English bowlers to the sword to reach 109 not out from a mere 83 balls, lashing 7 sixes and four fours.

He went past 5,000 ODI runs before, with 90 needed off 48 balls, Shepherd went on the attack to Curran, muscling two leg-side sixes in an over containing 19 runs.

The 45th over, also bowled by Curran, went for 15 and the 47th by Carse was taken for 17 as Hope and Shepherd turned the tide. While Atkinson took out Shepherd lbw, Curran was powerless to stop Hope from repeatedly hammering him over the rope as the Windies claimed victory.

List of batsmen fastest to reach 5000 ODI runs

  • Babar Azam (Pakistan) – 97 innings
  • Hashim Amla (South Africa) – 101 innings
  • Viv Richards (West Indies) – 114 innings
  • Virat Kohli (India) – 114 innings
  • Shai Hope (West Indies) – 114 innings

Support The Readers Bureau. Buy A T-Shirt Today (4 different colors)! click

Readers Bureau, Contributor

 Edited by Jesus Chan

 Do you want to add feedback to this story?

Please add a comment in the box below or send an email to Call us at 646-874-7976. SUBSCRIBE CLICK

Like our Facebook page

Follow us on Twitter