Real Madrid Are European Champion Club Team

La decima.

Real Madrid won their 10th UEFA Champions’ League title with a stunning 4-1 victory over fellow Madrid side Atletico in Lisbon.

Real Madrid Are European Champion Club Team
Real Madrid celebrating La decima, their 10th champions league title

Atletico, the La Liga champions who humbled Real into third place in the league, took the lead through a 36th minute header from Diego Godin, as Real’s veteran goalkeeper Iker Casillas had a rush of blood and left his goal unprotected.

With seconds remaining in injury time for and Atletico win,  in fact about 3 minutes into injury time, Real’s Sergio Ramos scored to tie the final. The scores remained 1-1 after the first period of extra time, then Atletico seemed to run out of steam. Gareth Bale broke their resolve with a header in the 110th minute to give Real the lead for the first time, 2-1. Then Marcelo scored in the 118th minute followed by European footballer of the year Cristian Ronaldo, who added a penalty to make the final score 4-1.

Real’s coach Carlo Ancelloti won his 3rd champions’ league crown following two titles with AC Milan in 2003 and 2007, while Real’s goalkeeper and captain Iker Casillas landed his 3rd title, following victories in 2000 and 2002 with Real.

Read More.