President Biden Revokes Travel Restrictions

President Biden has revoked the travel restrictions placed on eight countries in southern Africa over the spread of the omicron variant, saying the measures were no longer necessary.

“Since I issued that proclamation, our Nation’s health officials, in collaboration with the South African scientists who originally reported the variant, have made substantial progress in understanding the Omicron variant,” Biden said in a proclamation rescinding the travel restrictions.

“Importantly, scientific experts have determined that people who are vaccinated against COVID-19 are protected against severe disease and hospitalization from the Omicron variant,” Biden added.

The President noted that the Covid-19 omicron variant has spread to a large number of countries but its impact on vaccinated people is not as severe as was first thought.

“Moreover, the Omicron variant has now spread to more than 100 countries, and it is prevalent in the United States.”

The U.S. late last month restricted travel from eight African countries — Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe — after scientists in southern Africa first discovered the omicron variant.

Readers Bureau, Contributor

Edited by Jesus Chan

Do you want to add feedback to this story?

Please add a comment in the box below or send an email to info@thereadersbureau.com,  Call us at 201-500-7715