Jamaica Tallawahs Wins CPL Championship

The Jamaica Tallawahs are once again Caribbean Premier League champions.

This is the team’s third hold of the trophy after their last win six years ago.

The Tallawahs earned bragging rights after brushing aside Barbados Royals in the final, winning by 8 wickets at the Providence Stadium in Guyana.

The Tallawahs, who were set 162 to win, won on a canter making 162-2 in 16.1 overs.

Hero of the Tournament and Man of the Match Brandon King led the way with a punishing undefeated knock of 83, which included 2 sixes and 13 fours.

He shared a second-wicket stand of 86 with Shamarh Brooks, who weighed in with 47.

King also shared an unbroken third-wicket stand of 75 with captain Rovman Powell who was left unbeaten on 14.

The Royals had earlier posted 161-7 in their 20 overs, having elected to bat. Azam Khan top-scored with 51 with three sixes and 4 fours, while Rahkeem Cornwall made a blistering 36 off 21 balls, including 4 sixes and 2 fours.

His opening partner Kyle Mayers got 29 off 19 deliveries with 6 fours. 

Fabian Allen bagged 3-24 and Nicholson Gordon 3-33.

Support The Readers Bureau Buy A T-Shirt Today (4 different colors)! click

Readers Bureau, Contributor

Edited by Jesus Chan

Do you want to add feedback to this story?

Please add a comment in the box below or send an email to,  Call us at 646-874-7976