IPL 2021 – Will MI Lift The Title Again Or Will Another Team Makes The Grab?

Mumbai Indians are the defending champions and they are, once again, ready to lift the trophy.

Almost five months from the IPL 2020 final and we are again ready to enter the blockbuster of a tournament. But the question is, will MI lift the title (once again), or CSK will pounce back after a horrendous and disastrous 2020 edition, or some other team try to break the dominance of these two giant teams in the IPL who have won 8 out of the 13 IPL trophies?

Mumbai Indians — Favorites again?

Oh yes, they are.

Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult, Kieron Pollard, Quinton de Kock, and others were responsible to help Mumbai lift their 5th title last year in the deserts of the UAE. Guess what, they are also in the 2021 edition and ready to push MI to a 6th title.

Mumbai Indians are the most successful team of the tournament. They lifted the trophy last year for a record fifth time in the empty stadiums of the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. Will they do it for the 6th time also?

They are capable of doing it and that too with ease.

Will Chennai Super Kings roar back?

Chennai Super Kings finished 7th on the table. Really? Yes, they did.

For the first time in thirteen editions, CSK, who are a three-time winner and five-time runner-up team, were not able to qualify for the playoffs stage.

They had their problems. Their players were affected by the Covid-19, their players withdrew themselves from the tournament, their players didn’t perform well on the field, they didn’t find the perfect combination, and despite winning the opening match against the eventual winners, MI, they become the first team to be eliminated from the competition.

Are they ready now? Yes, they are (hopefully).

With plenty of time to regroup and train before the competition, MS Dhoni’s men will do everything on the field to bring back their A-game (that we are accustomed to seeing).

Sam Curran, the find of the tournament for CSK, is in good shape and they will be boosted with the return of Suresh Raina in the squad. With Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, Imran Tahir, and Faf du Plessis, CSK look to be in good shape and look set to go till the last stages of the competition.

Will it be the first time for one of the three teams?

Three teams out of the current eight teams are still trophy-less and are desperate to decorate their cabinet with an IPL trophy.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (03), Punjab Kings (01), and Delhi Capitals (01) have played finals but ended with eggs on their face.

Star-studded teams, yes, but lack that knockout punch to be regarded as a champion.

There are potential match-winners in each of the three squads, the teams, however, need to find their perfect XI quickly to hit the ground running.

The tournament is set to begin on April 9 when Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indians meet Virat Kohli’s Royal Challengers Bangalore at the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

Readers Bureau, Contributor

Edited by Jesus Chan

Do you want to add feedback to this story?

Please add a comment in the box below or send email to info@thereadersbureau.comsend us a message on WhatsApp at 646-874-7976 or Call us at 201-500-7715