History Making Spain Takes Home 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup

Spain won its first Women’s World Cup title, beating England 1-0 in the final on Sunday, August 20, 2023.

It was a historic achievement for Spain, which had never reached the final before and had faced a near-mutiny by players last year over the management of coach Jorge Vilda.

Spain showed its bold and brilliant style of play throughout the tournament, overcoming a 4-0 loss to Japan in the group stage and defeating Switzerland, the Netherlands, and Sweden in the knockout rounds.

Spain’s Olga Carmona scored the only goal of the final in the 23rd minute, with a stunning volley from outside the box that left England goalkeeper Mary Earps helpless.

England tried to equalize, but Spain’s defense and goalkeeper Cata Coll held firm, denying Lauren Hemp’s header that hit the crossbar and saving Jennifer Hermoso’s penalty in the second half.

Spain became the fifth winner in nine editions of the Women’s World Cup, joining Germany as the only two nations to win men’s and women’s titles.

Support The Readers Bureau. Buy A T-Shirt Today (4 different colors)! click

Readers Bureau, Contributor

 Edited by Jesus Chan

 Do you want to add feedback to this story?

Please add a comment in the box below or send an email to Call us at 646-874-7976. SUBSCRIBE CLICK

Like our Facebook page

Follow us on Twitter