cricket, SPORTS

CWI Set To Go Separate Ways From T&T’s Rebel Cricketers

In what could now be deemed as irreconcilable differences between Cricket West Indies (CWI) and some players from Trinidad and Tobago, the organizing body of cricket in the West Indies (CWI) is set to move on with regional players who are considered more committed to the cause of Windies cricket.

According to a press report, Cricket West Indies (CWI) president Dave Cameron stated that the future of Trinidad and Tobago’s Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine and Daren Bravo with the West Indies team is now in doubt after they declined to play in the ICC World Cup qualifiers next month.

The decision by the three players to ignore the call to play for the West Indies in qualifying matches for the 2019 ICC World Cup has left Windies board members disheartened and more so, as the players have opted to play in another country for a Super League team.

“We asked them to do the math and give us an opportunity and play for us this time. We are very disappointed about it, and the board in its wisdom feels that after the qualifiers, we qualify then we will probably not invite these players to be a part of Cricket West Indies going forward,” said Cameron in a radio interview.

At the same time, West Indies and Jamaica all-rounder Andre Russell who was banned for a year from cricket for a whereabouts clause violation by an independent anti-doping panel in Kingston now returns but has opted to play in the Pakistan Super League rather than for the Windies.

However, Cameron has extended an olive branch to the player to join the team.

“We have spoken to Andre, and he has presented a reasonably good case about the amount of 50 over cricket at this time. While he will play the Super 50, he will not play in the qualifiers, but we believe he should be available for Cricket West Indies going forward,” said Cameron.

In the meantime, five Jamaicans including Chris Gayle have been included in the West Indies’ 15-man squad selected for the ICC World Cup qualifiers set for March 4-25 in Zimbabwe. Gayle is joined by Rovman Powell, Sheldon Cottrell, Marlon Samuels and Nikita Miller as the other Jamaicans included in the squad.

The squad is completed by Jason Holder, vice-captain Jason Mohammed, Devendra Bishoo, Carlos Brathwaite, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Kemar Roach and Kesrick Williams.

The West Indies’ first game in the qualifiers will be on March 6 against the ICC World Cricket League division two winner. The Caribbean side’s group also includes Ireland, the Netherlands and Papua New Guinea. The top two teams from the Cricket World Cup qualifiers will qualify for the 2019 Cricket World Cup in England. West Indies is one of seven teams who has played in every cricket World Cup since its inception in 1975.

Readers Bureau

Edited by Jesus Chan

Do you want to add feedback to this story? Please add a comment in the box below or send us an email at

Like our Facebook page

Follow us on Twitter