Contraction In West Indies Super50 Cricket Tournament — A Setback

The 2020–21 Regional Super50 will be the 47th edition of the Regional Super50.

The series is set to get underway in February 2021 in Antigua and Barbuda.

Six teams will contest the tournament – Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, the Leeward Islands, Trinidad and Tobago, and the Windward Islands.

The West Indies Emerging Team, which won the previous edition of the competition, will miss out next year.

On 15 June 2020, CWI held a players’ draft for the 2020–21 tournament.

The draft took place across two rounds, with each team signing a minimum of fifteen players.

In December 2020, Cricket West Indies confirmed that the United States, Canada, Combined Campuses and Colleges, and the West Indies Emerging Team would not participate in the tournament.

The exclusion of previous participants will see the tournament reverts to its original format with the region’s six leading franchises taking part.

The contraction in the number of teams will also see changes to the schedule where the tournament will now be played over one round, with each team playing five matches.

It is also a setback for teams excluded from the tournament and, by extension, many players.

They would all be robbed of opportunities to showcase their talents and perhaps assumed a more significant role in the future on the world stage.

Nigel Bell, Readers Bureau, Contributor

Edited by Jesus Chan

Do you want to add feedback to this story? Please add a comment in the box below or send an email to info@thereadersbureau.comsend us a message on WhatsApp at 646-874-7976 or Call us at 201-500-7715