African Union Vows ‘Zero Tolerance’ to Undemocratic Change

ADDIS ABABA, ETHIOPIA — The African Union insisted Sunday it had a “zero tolerance” policy toward unconstitutional change as it maintained its suspension of four military-ruled countries.

The Sahel states of Burkina Faso, Guinea, and Mali, as well as Sudan, were sanctioned by the Pan-African body after coups in recent years, but the AU said Sunday it was ready to help them return to democratic rule.

“The assembly reaffirmed zero tolerance against unconstitutional change (of government),” said the AU’s Commissioner for Political Affairs, Peace and Security, Bankole Adeoye.

“The Commission is ready to support these member states to return to constitutional order, the idea is that democracy must take root and must be promoted and protected,” he told a news conference on the final day of the weekend AU summit in Addis Ababa.


Support The Readers Bureau. Buy A T-Shirt Today (4 different colors)! click

Readers Bureau, Contributor

Edited by Jesus Chan

Do you want to add feedback to this story?

Please add a comment in the box below or send an email to Call us at 646-874-7976 SUBSCRIBE CLICK